In an age of  digital communication. Where everything is yesterday news as soon as it’s printed. With millions of tweets posted every second, YouTube videos uploaded every minute, and websites refreshing quicker than the speed of sound. Is there really a reliable source of information when wanting to make an informed decision.

I think the question we have to ask ourselves is do we really trust what we read in the press? In an era of fake news and death hoaxes, is there really a chance for professional journalism to take place. Where the average reporter must get something out into the world before the next jackal comes along and tears it from their cold dead hands.  Yes that is quite a gruesome picture to paint of the current state of affairs, and I am sure that is not the case in most circles. However I think we must begin to look into what we take for gospel when it comes to information gathering.

I mean I can guarantee you, if I looked onto my Facebook or Twitter feed right now, there would be millions of articles with so called “experts” giving their opinion on topics like the state of the oval office, to something as trivial as to why Jose Mourinho didn’t smile during the EFL Cup presentation. Clouding our judgement, and making us second guess our first impulses which in some cases may be helpful, but what do you have to do to be an expert.

Just take football for example, every so called expert is an ex player, and yes you could argue that they give the best insights, but can they really be unbiased or give us an informed choice if they haven’t been in that situation themselves. I for one know that I scream at the T.V when watching games or Match of the day (MOTD), because commentators and pundits alike, are at times unable to the severe ties of old club alliances, or rivalries when giving an opinion on current club affairs so can we really trust the “experts”.

I guess my argument to this question is, how on earth are we meant to keep on top of the flood of information that is thrown at us every minute of everyday. If even the so called experts cant give us the desired answer.  I mean just take the EU Referendum for example.

We had everything from live T.V debates, Question Time, numerous newspaper articles, and even in some cases all out wars over social media. It caused the whole of Britain to choose a side, and saw more votes cast from the general public than the last two general elections combine. But you ask most people at the time and you would still hear things like I am confused I don’t know what to vote for, and can’t somebody please just give me the facts. So could there be an argument that too much information is instead of giving us a clearer picture, is in actual fact just causing us to feel overwhelmed. I for one at the end of the EU Referendum just wanted the whole thing to disappear. It seemed to dominate every minute of my waking day, everywhere you turned you couldn’t get away. Whether it was someone sticking a leaflet in your hand, or a breaking news feed on my phone by the end I was just fed up.

So your probably wondering what is my point in writing this. Well I personally think yes there is still a place for responsible journalism and creativity. I am not talking about Facebook Live or somebody’s personal YouTube Channel, even tho there are some brilliant ones out there. What I am talking about is real journalism, going out there and talking to the people involved, doing your research, checking every fact, and in some cases following your gut. Not giving up until the story is there within your grasp and every box has been ticked.

Now I am not saying that we shouldn’t enjoy the internet and social media, I mean the average person spends four hours a day cruising through the latest gossip  finding out when their favourite celebrity could be near them next.  There could be an argument there that we all need to get a life. However lets be honest you cant beat the latest angry grandma video, or kitten cuteness to brighten up your day.

But coming back to the title how well informed are we. Well if you believe Mr Trump the press are all liars, and we should follow his lead. But for me we are better informed than ever before. I guess it just our responsible to make sure we gather all the facts from a range of sources so that we can get a range of viewpoints, and move on from there.  In a ever changing digital age what possibility could happen next?

If you like this please leave a comment and please share on any sites you may use so that more people will see it thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

